Last Updated on February 28, 2022 by cwl

As of March 26th, 22 states have suspended the Bill of Rights by restricting commerce and freedom of movement. (Montana is apparently joining the list on Saturday.) Here is the list. The political affiliation of each Governor is listed next to the state.

California, D
Colorado, D
Connecticut, D
Delaware, D
Hawaii, D
Idaho, R
Illinois, D
Indiana, R
Louisiana, D
Massachusetts, R
Michigan, D
Minnesota, D
Montana, D (as of 3-28-2020)
New Hampshire, R
New Jersey, D
New Mexico, D
New York, D
Ohio, R
Oregon, D
Vermont, R
Washington, D
West Virginia, R
Wisconsin, D

That’s 7 Republicans and 16 Democrats. Coincidence?

I did not include states with “partial” lockdowns, because that might actually make sense in some cases. Example: Delta County, Colorado (population 30,950) might need a different response to COVID-19 than El Paso County, Colorado (population 713,856). But no, half the states in the Union are doing the one-size-fits-all, top-down command and control central planning crap that worked out so well in Cuba, the old Soviet Union and Mao’s China. (Yes, that was sarcasm.)